Kapoulas narrowly edged out 2014 recipient Fab Flournoy of Newcastle Eagles in the voting among Basketball Journalists Association members – with 2013 victor, Rob Paternostro of Leicester Riders, in third.

See the All Time Winners, BBL Coach of the Year


“This has been an historic moment for the club to come eighth in our first year,” Kapoulas said. “It has made a really positive impact and been great for the players, the city and basketball here.

Bristol Flyers Head Coach Andreas Kapoulas

Bristol Flyers Head Coach Andreas Kapoulas

“It’s been a year of discovery but the award is recognition for what we’ve done over the past ten years to get here, as well as for the hard work put in by my assistants and – most of all – my players. This was the start but now the objective is to push on.”

The Flyers, along with fellow newcomers Leeds Force, have represented a buoyant addition to the BBL this year with both clubs proving immediately competitive amid the established sides.

“Andreas is a worthy winner for the way Bristol have stepped up,” said BJA secretary Mark Woods. “We should also pay credit to Fab for his accomplishments, on and off the court.

“Additionally, both are incredibly helpful to the media, something which has immense value in pushing basketball up the agenda as another Olympic year approaches.”

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback