The British Basketball community is shocked and saddened to hear of the sudden and unexpected passing of a BBL legend in Kevin Cadle.

British Basketball and the British Basketball League have agreed terms for a landmark ten year licence agreement, paving the way for the long-term development of the professional men's Club game in this country.

British Basketball is delighted to appoint Ian Curryer as its Chair, after a successful period as Interim Chair.

Leeds Force are delighted to announce the signing of veteran BBL forward Olu Babalola for the upcoming BBL season.

On Saturday the 22nd of July 2017, the British Basketball world came together to say goodbye to one of the Legends of the British Game. Some weeks earlier, Drew Sullivan had announced his retirement from the BBL. Drew had won it all in the British game including Championships, MVPs, Trophies and Cups. Without doubt, one of his greatest moments was winning a Bronze medal in the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne. There is no doubt that when the ball goes up for the start of the next season, Drew Sullivan will be sorely missed. #thanksdrew

Glasgow Rocks have signalled their intent for next season by appointing Tony Garbelotto as the club's new head coach, on an initial two-year deal.

Drew Sullivan has announced his retirement following a remarkable professional career that included winning 20 pieces of silverware during his time in the BBL.

Leicester Riders completed a memorable treble in dominant fashion after beating Esh Group Eagles Newcastle 84-63 in the Play-Off Final in front of 14,500 at The O2.

The BBL Championship is the flagship competition of the British Basketball League and features all member teams playing a 33-game regular season, from September to April. Matches are played according to FIBA rules and games consist of four-quarters of 10 minutes each. Two points are awarded for a win, with overtime used if the score is tied at the final buzzer – unlimited numbers of 5-minute overtime periods are played until one team is ahead when a period ends.

On this page on we acknowledge the BBL Coach of the Year from 1988 through to the present day. In the early days this was dominated by legendary BBL Coach Kevin Cadle and in recent years if anyone has been dominant then it is Fab Flournoy of the Newcastle Eagles. However Rob Paternostro now joins that very select club of Head Coaches who have won the BBL Coach of the Year 3 or more times.